NEVER name a folder with a space character on a Unix machine

And when I say NEVER, I mean NEVER. Waise toh, you should ‘Never Say Never‘ πŸ˜› But in this case I will. For the simple reason that a <space> character in the source of folder which Eclipse was running from made me waste a couple of my hours spread over 2 days to figure out what on the Earth was going on. It included reinstalling Pydev, Β and at one point of time I actually considered reinstalling Eclipse. Then checking out the error logs it suddenly hit me. I fixed it and Voila! There it was. Working the way it should have.

A suggestion to *NIX based OS developers: Please don’t give the default folder name such that it causes problems na.

Peace is restored to the World πŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “NEVER name a folder with a space character on a Unix machine

  1. Never say Never!! And a youtube link (which I cannot explore.. m on EDGE)…WOW!
    well dude .. Windows has corrupted us.. I would say.
    But hey two things:
    A) post d solution (not putting a space character is not really a solution ) .. think: “cd bhashkar\ sharma”.
    B) install Eclipse?? Really?? I mean unzipping/untar’ng cannot really be called Installing. (Bt if it can.. then do post how)

    Very informative!! And Bro thanks for posting a little technical Blog for a change!! Lolz

    • What can I say (although I think I can post more frequently if for the problems I face, I post the solution that I found/figured out. And btw, that’s TWO links πŸ˜‰ Chk them out when possible πŸ™‚

      Agreed. Untarring can’t be called installing. But then I think this is a Windows habit. And you know what they say about old habits, they inspire Bruce Willis πŸ˜› πŸ˜€

      As for the solution, will do that soon πŸ™‚
      And keep pushing me, and I just might write more Tech πŸ˜€

      Chk my other blog too πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

